OAKLAND, Oct. 4 -- The California Chapter of the American Planning association announced its awards at the 2015 installment of its annual conference. 

Opportunity and Empowerment

Award of Excellence
Courtyard at La Brea, West Hollywood Community Housing Corporation

Comprehensive Plan Award: Large Jurisdiction

Award of Merit
Harbor Mixed Use Transit Corridor Specific Plan, City of Santa Ana Planning Division

Award of Excellence
Jordan Downs Urban Village Specific Plan, City of Los Angeles Department of City Planning

Comprehensive Plan Award: Small Jurisdiction

Award of Merit: 
National City SMART Foundation, City of National City

Award of Excellence: Comprehensive Plan Award: Small Jurisdiction
North Bayshore Precise Plan, City of Mountain View

Implementation Award: Large Jurisdiction

Award of Merit
Devil's Slide Coastal Trail, San Mateo County

Award of Excellence
Glendale Downtown Specific Plan and Mobility Study, City of Glendale Community Development Department

Implementation Award: Small Jurisdiction

Award of Merit
City of Piedmont Rent-Restricted Second Unit Program, City of Piedmont

Innovation in Green Community Planning Award

Award of Merit
City Heights Urban Greening Plan, City of San Diego Planning Department

Award of Excellence
CAPtivate Western Riverside County, WRCOG's Subregional Climate Action Plan, Western Riverside Council of Governments 

Economic Planning and Development Award

Award of Merit
Salinas Economic Development Element. City of Salinas

Transportation Planning Award

Award of Merit
North Coast Corridor Public Works Plan and Transportation and Resource Enhancement Program, Caltrans District 11

Award of Excellence
Measuring Mobility in Pasadena -- Beyond Level of Service, City of Pasadena

Best Practices Award

Award of Merit
Climate Change and Extreme Weather Adaptation Options Pilot Project for Transportation Assets in the Bay Area, Metropolitan Transportation Commission

Award of Excellence
People Streets, City of Los Angeles Department of Transportation

Public Outreach

Award of Merit
At Home in Encinitas: Developing Housing Solutions, City of Encinitas

Award of Excellence
Land Use Planning Awareness Project, County of Riverside Department of Public Health

Urban Design Award

Award of Excellence 

 Warm Springs/South Fremont Community Plan, Perkins + Will

Planning Advocate Award of Exellence

James Rojas

Planning Agency Award of Excellence 

City of West Hollywood Community Development Department

Advancing Diversity and Social Change Award (in Honor of Paul Davidoff) of Merit: 

 Jurupa Valley Environmental Justice Element, City of Jurupa Valley

Academic Award

Award of Merit

 Cultivating Economic Prosperity and Creating Identity along Historic South Main Street in Santa Ana; Kristin Kaczmarek, University of California, Irvine, Planning Policy and Design

Award of Excellence
Walking and Cycling in San Francisco: Identifying Underserved Locations that are Particularly Receptive to Non-Motorized Transport via the Pedestrian and Bicycling Survey; Rebecca Walters, San Jose State University, Urban and Regional Planning

Communications Initiative Award of Excellence

"Visualizing the Code" Video Series, City of Anaheim Planning Department

Hard-Won Victory Award of Excellence 

Barrio Logan Gateway Sign, City of San Diego Planning Department

2015 Scholarships

Outstanding Student Award??

Jessica Medina, USC

Outstanding Student Award, Runners Up??

Ryan Sclar, UCLA; Alison Ecker, UCB; Kate Bridges, UCLA

 Diversity in Planning Award

??Mimi Morisake, SDSU

Merit Scholarship?

Brenna Callero, UCI; Nicole Bourgeois, UCI; Erick Tucker, SJSU

CPR Memorial Scholarship ? ?

Cassandra Gutierrez, USC?; Ellen Keating, SLO; ?Paul Donegan, SLO

David Wilcox Scholarship ??

Sam Blanchard, UCB

Ken Milam Scholarship ??

Logan Philippo, USC; Paul Wack

Sustainability Scholarship 

?Andrew Stricklin, UCLA

?Richard H. Weaver Scholarship 

?Michael Shilstone, USC

Section Student Awards

Central Coast Section

Jana Schwartz, SLO; Vivon Crawford, UCSB; Marie Laule, UCSB

?Inland Empire Section

?Nicole Bourgeois, UCI?; David Mach, Cal Poly Pomona

?Los Angeles Section?

Nour Chaaban, CSUN; ?Camille Stewart, UCLA?; Cassandra Gogreve, USC?; Joanne Wong, UCLA

?Northern Section?

Evelyn Saint-Louis, UCB?; Alexandra Ball, CSUMB?; Jaime Scott, SJSU; Mariaclara Zazzaro, SJSU?; Colleen Courtney, CSUMB 

?Orange Section 

?Joseph Cryer, UCI; Maria Christina Martinez, UCI

?Sacramento Section?

Jeffrey Graham, UCD

?San Diego Section

Ginger Stout, UCSD; Georgiana Hale, SDSU